When Buying Green Isn’t Green

I check my email in the morning and most mornings greet me with an email advertisement for reusable this or glass that. Green Your Kitchen, Green Your Bathroom, Green Your Commute, all by spending just $20, $30, or $50 dollars.

What the ad doesn’t tell me is that I should shop my house first (and of course it wouldn’t because that isn’t “good business”). Do I have something that can do the job without having to buy new? Can I take my tea in a mason jar? Can I wrap my sandwich in a cloth napkin that I already have? Can I use the 5 year-old *gasp* plastic lunchable-type container to pack my lunch in? Do I have an old sheet or t-shirt I can use to clean the house with instead of buying a new microfiber cloth?

Before I buy anything, “green” or not, I shop my house, and 9 times out of 10 I have just what I need. And 9 times out of 10 I will use that item until it breaks before I replace it.

When Buying Green Isn’t Green

Leave a Reply

