Energy *GASP* Bill

Swiss scientists say humanity could limit the effects (of climate change) if each person used just 2,000 watts of power a year. The average American consumes 12,000. A Bangladeshi uses 300.

To read more, follow this link.

How can we use less energy? I went in search of answers, because being practically waste free isn’t just about the amount of trash you put at the curb each week.

My energy bill as definitely not as low as I would like it to be. I know there are some major things I can look into, like evaluating the level of insulation in my attics, but what can I do to make a difference right now?

  1. Cover pot on stoves when cooking. According to EnergyStar.gov Covering your pot when cooking on an electric cooktop reduces your carbon footprint by about 85 lbs of carbon dioxide per year. While I have a gas cooktop and couldn’t find the numbers for energy saved, I do know it saves gas, cooks food faster, and won’t heat up my kitchen as much in the summer.
  2. Line dry clothes (really need to work on this one) I have an indoor drying rack that I need to make better use of. It will not only save energy and money but also make my clothes last longer. Energystar.gov says, If all clothes dryers sold in the US were ENERGY STAR certified, Americans could save $1.5 billion each year in utility costs and prevent greenhouse gas emissions equivalent to more than 2 million vehicles. Now imagine if we skipped the dryer and line-dried our clothes.
  3.  Wash clothes on cold. According to EnergyStar.org Water heating makes up about 90% of the energy it takes to operate a clothes washer. I think that says it all.
  4.  Lower thermostat by 2 degrees (and hope no one notices …) We already keep the thermostat in the low 60s so I am hoping a couple of extra degrees won’t make a huge difference.

What other energy saving recommendations do you have for things we can do right now to make a difference?

Energy *GASP* Bill

One thought on “Energy *GASP* Bill

Leave a Reply

