Vegan Scrambled Chickpeas

Scrambled tofu is a popular dish in this house. It is scarfed up as quickly as I make it. The thing is … I don’t like it.  Shhhh … don’t tell. Our favorite scrambled tofu recipe comes from the Vegan Dad blog. It is definitely the best that we have tried but I am still not enamored with it.

Then I was flipping through my copy of Isa Does It (and she really does!) and saw a recipe for Scrambled Chickpeas. I combined the two ideas and bring you my version of Vegan Scrambled Chickpeas. I hope you enjoy. I know I like this much more than scrambled tofu.

3 tsp. oil or water

3 cups cooked chickpeas

3/4 tsp. turmeric

1/2 tsp. salt (less if using canned beans) or to taste

Black pepper to taste

1 small onion

1 T. dijon mustard

1 T. nutritional yeast

water as needed

Heat a large skillet over medium/high heat and add the water or oil and saute the onion until translucent. Add the chickpeas and mash with a potato masher until there are no whole chickpeas left. Heat the mixture through, adding water to keep it from sticking. Mix in the rest of the ingredients and heat through. Scrambled Chickpeas should be moist, not dry and crumb, so add enough water to reach your desired consistency.

Serve with oven roasted potatoes and enjoy!

Vegan Scrambled Chickpeas

Leave a Reply

