Free Lunch

We’ve all heard someone say, “There’s no such thing as a free lunch.”

I disagree.

Leftovers are the only free lunch.

Okay, so I love leftovers. They feel like free food. Food I don’t have to plan,or think about, or even cook (I am probably in the minority in that I generally enjoy cold leftovers).

Even as a kid I remember going to restaurants and eating very little off of my plate knowing that I would like the taste of it better as leftovers for lunch the next day, fresh from the fridge.

These days I often make a salad and throw cold leftovers on top. A little jam or sunbutter on a cold pancake and I’m good to go. If that isn’t a free lunch, I don’t know what is.

How do you enjoy your leftovers?

Free Lunch

2 thoughts on “Free Lunch

  1. I love leftovers. I always feel like I grow up on them and it’s just a way of life. There is no meal more fun than just emptying the contents of the fridge and throwing something together. I work in catering and try to bring home as much food waste as possible, and Saturday lunchtimes I put my big wooden cheeseboard on the table filled with whatever needs using and it’s my favourite type of lunch. I don’t really think of it as free food although the worst kind of dish is one where I am missing a key ingredient and have to go to the shops.

    Like

Leave a Reply

